Berry & Oatmeal Muffins

Image

I’m not sure why, but it’s been almost impossible to get out of bed the past few mornings. No, it’s not depression, just my immense hatred of being awake before 6 a.m. I’ve never claimed to be a morning person and even on a good day I press the snooze button at least twice before even considering getting out of bed. But recently hitting that glorious button that gives me 9 more minutes of sleep has been pressed countless times. Before I know it I have less than 15 minutes to wake up, shower, get ready, and head out the front door to battle traffic and get to work on time.

While I should be making a bigger effort to eat breakfast, I’ve recently been in the position where I have to chose between brushing my teeth and eating a bowl of fruit and yogurt since I only have time for one… and since I take my personal dental hygiene seriously (and don’t want to scare off coworkers with bad breath) it’s a pretty easy choice to make. And since my lack of breakfast means I’m ravenous long before lunch, I usually grab something quick and easy at a store or cafe. While my local coffee establishment has some truly tasty pastries, it can be hard to justify spending three or four bucks a day on a pastry. My solution? Make something that’s easily portable, relatively healthy, and something that will stay fresh for a few days…. and I decided on muffins…

Berry & Oatmeal Muffins

Adapted from King Arthur Flour; makes 12 muffins

  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats (not the instant kind)
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup lightly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder (yes, a tablespoon, not teaspoon)
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cup berries (I used raspberries, but blueberries, blackberries, or chopped strawberries would also work)

Preheat your oven to 500°F. Lighltly grease a muffin tin.
Place oats, flours, sugars, salt, and baking powder in a large bowl. Mix together with a whisk. 

In a small to medium sized mixing bowl, add milk, oil, eggs, and vanilla; lightly whisk.
Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and mix with a whisk until just barely combined. Gently fold in berries. 

Fill cups of a lightly greased muffin tin three-quarters full. Place muffins in the oven and immediately drop temperature to 400°F. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into a muffin comes out with just a few moist crumbs. Let cool in muffin tins for 15 minutes before removing and letting cool completely. Muffins will last, wrapped and at room temperature, for 3-4 days.

Image

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Berry & Oatmeal Muffins”

  1. MyNinjaNaan says :

    What an awesome portable breakfast! I have some oats that I need to use up, and this would make a great muffin for me and the rambunctious toddler. I think I’ll try strawberries or blackberries 🙂

Leave a Reply

