Air-Runn Is 1 Year Old! Red Velvet Cupcakes!

Image

Happy first birthday to my blog (which, coincidentally is the same day as my half birthday)! I cannot believe it’s been a year of blogging (although my lack of belief probably has to do with my immense lack of posts the first 6 months or so). I’ve really enjoyed having every single one of you as readers and I’ve equally enjoyed reading all of the other blogs I’ve come across… it’s nice to meet so many people from different states, countries, continents, and hemispheres who enjoy food as much as I do.

What’s in store for year two of Air-runn? I certainly hope to post more original recipes and I definitely hope to take better pictures (although, ahem, improving on something so mediocre probably won’t be difficult).

My first blog post was a cake recipe (orange chocolate chunk) so it seemed fitting I start my second year with another cake recipe.

One of my good friends makes some of the best cupcakes I’ve ever had and she was kind enough to share her red velvet cupcake recipe (perhaps my favorite cupcake). The recipe originates from Bubble Room, a restaurant she goes to anytime she’s in Florida. She initially found the recipe published in a cookbook but has since made a few minor alterations. I’m not privy to all of her changes (undoubtedly she doesn’t want to share all the secrets to her amazing cupcakes) but I think I did the recipe justice.

Besides the fact that this recipe tastes divine, it was relatively forgiving and incredibly simple. For instance, when I had already scooped the batter into the lined muffin tins, placed them in the oven and realized I forgot to put sugar in them, the final product didn’t suffer when I had to scrape out the batter into a bowl, add the sugar, and re-pour into the muffin tins. Woohoo!

Image

Red Velvet Cupcakes 

Adapted from a friend’s recipe, who adapted it from here

Makes 12 cupcakes

  • 1 1/4 all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon red wine vinegar
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup  buttermilk
  • 2 tablespoons red food coloring

Preheat oven to 350°

Sift together dry ingredients in a bowl.

In another bowl, mix together egg, vinegar, oil, buttermilk, vanilla, and food coloring. Add to dry ingredients and mix well.

Spoon into 12 lined muffin tins and bake 20-22 minutes (although I test at 18). When cupcakes are done, a cake tester (such as a toothpick) will come out with one or two moist crumbs. Let cool slightly, remove from muffin tins, and cool completely on a wire rack. Frost with the following frosting recipe.

Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 8 ounces cream cheese (room temperature)
  • 1 stick unsalted butter (room temperature)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Pinch of salt
  • 2 cups sifted powdered sugar

Using a hand mixer or stand mixer, beat cream cheese and butter for a few minutes, until light and fluffly. Add vanilla, salt, and sugar, turn mixer to low (you don’t want to cover yourself in a cloud of powdered sugar), and mix until combined, light, and fluffy. Use immediately.

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Air-Runn Is 1 Year Old! Red Velvet Cupcakes!”

  1. Heidi says :

    love the addition of red wine vinegar 🙂

  2. Jhuls says :

    Yay! Happy birthday! ❤ And the cupcakes look perfect! 😉

  3. myninjanaan says :

    Happppppy Birthday to your blogbaby! 😀

  4. Liz says :

    Happy Blogiversary. I wish you a happy blogging in 2014. The red velvet cupcakes are awesome!

  5. stephanie says :

    Congratulations Aaron. .keep it up..and thank you for sharing recipe. 🙂 oh…nice to know you have a blog.

Leave a Reply

