Roasted, Blanched, and Raw Beet Salad with Miso Dressing

Image

The New Yorker is a magazine my mother has had a subscription to (off and on) for well over a decade. It’s my personal favorite publication as it covers a wide array of topics and events and balances being informative and humorous (and I never mind getting them after she’s read them). Her last subscription ended about a year ago so for one of her Christmas gifts I got her a subscription.

If any of you have ever bought a magazine subscription online I’m sure you’re well aware there are a slew of other magazines you can purchase (at a huge discount) when you checkout. It’s like the grocery store; checkout aisles are always full of junk food, just tempting you to impulse purchase. While I try not to spend frivolously, I just couldn’t resist purchasing a year subscription to Bon Appetit for myself. It just seemed too good of a deal. After perusing the first issue I received, I quickly started a list of all of the dishes I wanted to make and decided the first dish to try would be their Beet Salad with Miso and Black Sesame.

The original recipe calls for a combination of wedges of roasted beet, thin slices of raw beet, mixed together with watercress. What made this salad interesting to me was that you got two very different textures from one ingredient. Wanting to take it a step further, I wanted to get three uses out of one ingredient, so in addition to using the beets, I used the beet greens.

For anyone that hasn’t used beet greens, you’re missing out. They have an earthy flavor and are almost reminiscent of spinach. They’re great sautéed, but equally nice when raw (if eating raw, I typically don’t eat the thicker ribs of the leaf, as I find them a bit fibrous). In addition to eating a delicious salad, I was also cutting down on waste as I used so many parts of one ingredient.

Roasted, Blanched, and Raw Beet Salad with Miso Dressing

Adapted from Bon Appetit

  • 4 golden beets
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup miso
  • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • Juice of half a lime
  • A handful of mixed greens (I felt there weren’t enough beet greens, so I added extra mixed greens [spinach would also work nicely])
  • 1 teaspoon poppy seeds

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Scrub all beets, reserving greens. Take 3 beets, drizzle with 1 tablespoon olive oil, season with salt and pepper, and tightly wrap in aluminum foil. Roast in preheated oven for approximately 40 minutes, or until tender. Unwrap beets, let cool slightly, remove skin (I find rubbing with a paper towel is the easiest way of skinning cooked beets), and cut into wedges (approximately 8-10 wedges per beet).

Meanwhile, bring a small pot of salted water to a boil. Using a mandolin (or using a knife), slice the remaining beet as thinly as possible and blanche in boiling water for 45 seconds. I found thinly sliced raw beet to be a smidge tough, which is why I recommend blanching them. Drain and shock in incredibly cold tap water or ice water. This stops the cooking.

Whisk together miso, vinegar, lime juice, and 3 tablespoons of water. Gradually pour in remaining 2 tablespoons of olive oil, while whisking. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Chop or tear beat greens into bite sized pieces and thoroughly rinse (they can be quite sandy) and pat dry with paper towels.

In a large bowl, mix together beet greens, additional mixed greens, roasted beets, and blanched beets. Pour on enough dressing to lightly coat the salad (I probably only used 1/3 to 1/2 of the dressing since I like very lightly dressed salads). Arrange on 4 individual plates (or one large platter) and sprinkle with poppy seeds.

Image

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

