Mashed “Potatoes” (Mashed Cauliflower)

Image

I think at some point in the past few weeks or so I knocked my head and lost all sense of judgment. See, I decided to go on this ridiculous diet where I can’t eat carbs, sugar, fat… basically the good things in life. Why would I do that to myself?

Don’t get me wrong, I love veggies and healthy food but when potatoes and bread are eliminated from your diet you can really start to miss them and begin to loath another bite of salad. Why can’t I have a slice of pizza or a steak taco?

A quick Google search will show a ton of healthier alternatives to things like tortillas and pizza crust (both made out of cauliflower), and while they’ve turned out okay, neither were solid replicas of the foods I’ve come to love. They just didn’t quite satisfy.

Given my adequate track record of using cauliflower as a substitute, I was dubious when I read recipes and rave reviews for mashed “potatoes” made out of cauliflower. Could anything really replace the perfection of tender Yukon gold potatoes that have been mashed with copious amounts of butter and cream? Why yes, you can replace all those carbs and fat with something that tastes delicious and is much healthier for you. I was pleasantly shocked at how satisfying these were. Really.

Image

Mashed “Potatoes”

  • 1 medium head cauliflower, trimmed and cut into small florets
  • 3 cloves of garlic (I used a few more, because I really like garlic and the cloves I was using were tiny)
  • 1/3 cup non-fat yogurt
  • Salt and pepper
  • Chives (optional)

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add chopped cauliflower and cook for approximately 10 minutes, or until easily pierced with a fork. Once cooked, drain and lightly pat dry with a paper towel.

Add peeled cloves of garlic to a food processor and pulse until minced. Add yogurt and cauliflower and pulse a few times before fully pureeing. If you were cooking actual potatoes you would never want to use a food processor (they get really gummy in texture), but you really can’t over mash cauliflower. Once the texture is silky smooth, add salt and pepper to taste.

If desired, sprinkle chives on top.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Mashed “Potatoes” (Mashed Cauliflower)”

  1. spammyrice says :

    Mmmm this sounds so good! Maybe we can do this too for that cooking party we’re supposed to have with Maritess. 😉

  2. Sherry says :

    Oh, I’ve made this before, but it’s been too long and I bet your recipe is better. I better try it soon.

  3. TheGreatZambini says :

    It’s a lot smoother than when I’ve tried to make it before. Maybe the yoghurt helps. I’ll have to try this when cauliflower pops up at the farmer’s market again 🙂

Leave a Reply

