Avocado Hummus

Image

I have mixed thoughts on New Years Resolutions. I applaud people who make goals and hope to implement changes in their lives, but so rarely do people follow-through on them. I’m totally guilty. I’m pretty sure I’m still paying for a gym membership I signed up for 8 years ago. I think I went once or twice?

But, 2014 IS going to be the year I keep up that resolution of eating more healthily. I can do it! Totally going to cut down on carb-heavy meals and sauces with a stick of butter.

… at least until February when the rest of the food blogosphere starts posting rich, decadent recipes again.

When thinking about how I want to improve my diet I like being assured I can continue to eat delicious food. So often people associate healthy with boring. The following dip recipe is actually pretty good for you and unlike most dips, which include copious amounts of cheese, the only highly caloric or fatty ingredient in this is avocado, which is a good fat.

While I love a traditional hummus, I love the pack of peppery punch this hummus has from the arugula and the rich, savory, creaminess of the avocado creates a velvety smooth texture. A healthy amount of garlic and lemon round out the flavor perfectly.

Whether you want to ring in the New Year with this dip or whip up a batch to enjoy with sliced vegetables for lunch (it actually holds up really well and lasts several days), look no further! I think slices of carrot, cucumber, or celery, pita chips, or lightly toasted pita bread are all great accompaniments. It’s also delicious used as a spread on a sandwich instead of a mayonnaise.

Image

Avocado Hummus

Adapted from Giada De Laurentiis

  • One 15-ounce can garbonzo beans (aka chick peas), drained, liquid reserved, and rinsed
  • 1 large or 2 small avocados, seeded, peeled and coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 packed cup arugula
  • 1/3 cup fresh flat-leaf parsley leaves
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 3 clove garlic, smashed
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt, plus extra for seasoning
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, plus extra for seasoning

Combine the beans, avocado, arugula, parsley, lemon juice, garlic, salt, and pepper in the bowl of a food processor. Pulse until the mixture is coarsely chopped. Gradually add in the reserved canned liquid, a tablespoon at a time, until the mixture is creamy. Season with additional salt and pepper, if necessary. Serve with pita or sliced vegetables.

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Avocado Hummus”

  1. TheGreatZambini says :

    Why would anyone stick to a punishment? I don`t think I`d do the New Year`s resolution bit. What about a resolution to explore amazing foods I haven`t tried before? I mean, truly decadent or fancy foods like a new spinach pastry or local and organic bison roast are things I haven`t really tried, and they tend to be healthier than boring not really tasty foods I`ve stuck with in the past.

    • air-runn says :

      I totally agree! I’m really trying to find delicious but healthy foods. And I really want bison now! It’s a protein I’ve only had once or twice and really enjoyed the uniqueness!
      Happy New Year! 🙂

      • TheGreatZambini says :

        I like to go to Asian and South American restaurants for that. You know, the real kind, not the Americanized kind. It’s real ingredients and it usually comes with tons of veggies as part of the dish. As you can tell from my blog, I like bibimbap bowls 🙂

Leave a Reply

