Turkey Noodle Soup

Image

Hope everyone had a fantastic Thanksgiving! I know mine was full of great food and great family. For the first time I was in charge of dinner and tried to really go all out and make a spread of delicious food. I had already tested almost all of the recipes I planned on serving and felt confident dinner would be a success. The one thing I was worried about was the turkey. I’ve cooked countless times with turkey and I’ve done roasted turkey breast, but never a full turkey. Not to sound full of myself, but wow… I think I did a nice job 🙂

If there was only one thing about the turkey I wasn’t pleased with I might have to critique the size. In my infinite wisdom I decided that a 16 pound bird would be the perfect size… for four people. Needless to say I have plenty of leftovers!

I’ve already had turkey sandwiches galore, the leftover stuffing was exceptionally delicious served with a fried egg on top for breakfast, and who doesn’t love leftover pie? But what should I do with the half a turkey I have left?

The first thing that popped into my mind was Turkey Noodle Soup. It would use up some of the leftover turkey and that huge turkey carcass was just screaming to be used in a stock.

The great thing about this soup is how easy it was to make. With the exception of actually making the stock, the soup itself was finished in 20 minutes. Served with a slice of crusty bread this soup was perfect on a cold, fall day. Feel free to throw the leftovers in the freezer to enjoy at a later date.

Image

Turkey Noodle Soup

Adapted from Tyler Florence

  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 medium carrots, cut diagonally into 1/2-inch-thick slices
  • 2 celery ribs, halved lengthwise, and cut into 1/2-inch-thick slices
  • 4 fresh thyme sprigs
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 2 quarts turkey stock, recipe follows
  • 6 to 8 ounces dried wide egg noodles (approximately 1/2 to 2/3 of a package [all depends on how noodley or brothy you like your soup])
  • 3 cups shredded or diced, cooked turkey
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 handful fresh flat-leaf parsley, finely chopped

Place a soup pot over medium heat and coat with the oil. Add the onion, garlic, carrots, celery, thyme and bay leaf. Cook and stir for about 6 minutes, until the vegetables are softened but not browned. Pour in the wine, bring to a boil, and let reduce slightly (a few minutes) and then add chicken stock and bring the liquid to a boil. Add the noodles and simmer until just barely tender (about 6 minutes). Fold in the chicken and peas, and continue to simmer for another couple of minutes to heat through; season with salt and pepper. Sprinkle with chopped parsley before serving.

Turkey Stock

  • The leftover bones of a turkey
  • 2 carrots, cut in large chunks
  • 3 celery stalks, cut in large chunks
  • 2 large white onions, cut in eighths
  • 1 head of garlic, halved
  • 1 parsnip, cut in large chunks
  • 15 or so sprigs of fresh thyme
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 teaspoon whole black peppercorns

Image

Rinse any dirt off of all ingredients. Place all ingredients in a large stockpot. Pour in 3 quarts of water and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low-medium and simmer for a minimum of 1 1/2 hours but preferably longer (I cooked mine for 2 1/2 hours).

Strain through a fine mesh strainer lined with cheesecloth. Use immediately, store in the fridge for up to a week, or freeze.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

