All food groups are equal, but some are more equal than others (Yorkshire Pudding!)

Image

While choosing my favorite food group is rather difficult (as I like them all!), I have to say that carbs are by far my favorite. Would the world be a sad place without seafood? Yes, but it would be even worse without carbs! I could (and often do) eat bread every single day, my life feels incomplete without generous servings of pasta, and what kind of society would we live in if there wasn’t rice?!?! Besides, liking carbs is economical. Far too often when I’m out at a restaurant I fill up on bread before my entrée even comes! That just means I’ll have yummy leftovers for later (2 meals out of 1)!

I still remember growing up and eating the delicious roasts my grandmother would make. While the meat was always cooked to perfection and had delicious flavor, my favorite part of the meal was always the Yorkshire Pudding, which is an English carb made of milk, egg, and flour. Her recipe came from her father who decided to add onion and make them in muffin tins (I believe the more traditional method is to bake in a large pan and cut into individual servings). Yorkshire pudding, smothered in gravy, is an ultimate comfort food to me and always fondly reminds me of my childhood.

While I’ve helped my grandmother make Yorkshire pudding 8 million times, this past Friday was the first time I had attempted to make them solo. The recipe itself is straight forward, and chances are you probably have everything to make them. Yorkshire puddings have always been popular served with roasted meats and gravy, but even if you’re only cooking for two, a nice steak works just as well as a leg of lamb.  Mashed potatoes (and perhaps a vegetable) are also nice accompaniments.

Yorkshire Pudding

A family recipe

  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 onion, finely chopped
  • A few tablespoons of butter, cut into small pieces

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Place a small dollop of butter into each muffin tin (this recipe makes about 10-12).

Image

Once oven has preheated, place muffin tins with butter into the oven to allow butter to melt and the pan to get hot.

Meanwhile, mix together flour, salt, and pepper in a medium bowl. Add in milk and eggs and stir until just combined. Fold in onions.

Spoon batter into muffin tins. You’ll want to fill the muffin tins between 2/3 to 3/4 of the way full.

Bake in preheated oven for 25-30 minutes (although check at about 22 minutes). Puddings will be puffed and golden brown.

Serve with a side of gravy and enjoy!

Image

Image

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

