Baked Potato Chips and MacGyver Dip

Image

A while back on a lazy Sunday I went to brunch at one of Seattle’s (many) seafood restaurants, Salty’s on Alki. Every weekend their bar is overtaken by a massive buffet spread with every possible brunch item you can imagine. Made-to-order omelets, crepes, waffles, French toast, pancakes… freshly shucked oysters, jumbo prawns… 15+ kinds of dessert, a build your own Bloody Mary bar… ummmm… a pasta station, freshly prepared eggs benedict… no matter what you’re craving, Salty’s brunch buffet has it and they do an exceptional job of executing it.

Buffets have a bad reputation, and very rightfully so. 99.9% of the time buffets serve incredibly mediocre and usually bad food. Presentation is usually nasty and food items sit in warming dishes for an eternity. I’m pleased to say that Salty’s brunch buffet is very solid and they take pride in serving fresh food. Sure, there were a few misses, but for the most part I ate quality food.

After sampling almost everything I was pretty useless for the day. Food coma doesn’t even come close to describing my sloth-ness. While I SHOULD have had a very light, healthy dinner, I was in a snacking mood and wanted chips and dip. The thought of driving to a store for snacky items just seemed overwhelming so I decided to bake up some potato chips and make some sort of a dip with what I had in the fridge.

Oven Baked Potato Chips

  • One large russet potato, thinly sliced on a mandolin (1/8 inch)
  • A few drizzles of olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper (optional)

1. Coat slices of potato in olive oil and salt & pepper.

2. Place coated slices on a parchment lined baking sheet and bake in a preheated 400 degree oven for 20-25 minutes.

I found some of the slices cooked faster than others so I’d recommend checking on them at about 15 minutes and every few minutes after that.

MacGyver Dip

I just used random stuff from my fridge and spice cabinet without measuring. A good dip should be creamy and pack a lot of flavor and should meet whatever flavor profile you’re into. Some hot sauce would be nice, a few cloves of roasted garlic… whatever you have available.

  • A few scoops of sour cream
  • A few scoops of mayo
  • Some leftover roasted red pepper
  • Salt & pepper
  • Caramelized onion (I just used a random half or so of an onion I had)
  • 3 chopped scallions
  • 2 strips of crispy cooked bacon
  • Garlic powder (I am a strong advocate of fresh garlic but I had none)
  • Some cayenne

1. Mix all of the above together, chill, and serve with chips!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

